All About Me!

Hi readers, my name is Brady and I love traveling and eating! I am 13 and was born in Los Angeles, California. I have lived in Raleigh, North Carolina with my mom, dad, and younger brother for as long as I can remember. One thing you should know is that I LOVE food! Some of my favorite dishes are butter chicken with roti, sushi, ramen, tacos, and of course, I can never say no to dessert! Having global taste buds means I love exploring, whether it’s new places or new foods.

Hobbies

Traveling is an expensive hobby so when I am at home, I travel and explore through books! Some of my favorite genres are fantasy, sci-fi, and mystery. My favorite books are the Spy School Series, Harry Potter Series, The War That Saved My Life, The Girl That Drank The Moon, City Spies Series, Inheritance Series (Eragon Series), and Rick Riordan books. Another hobby that I have is gaming and watching TV. I usually play Overwatch 2 and Fortnite with my friends, some of my favorite shows are The Last Airbender and Extraordinary Attorney Woo. You can usually catch me doing these things or zooming around in my wheelchair!

My Disability

I have a rare genetic disease called Spinal Muscular Atrophy, a form of Muscular Dystrophy. This basically means I have weaker muscles and have been a wheelchair user since the age of two. I have never walked before; my wheels are my legs! Even though I am in a wheelchair, it doesn’t keep my family from traveling! We love traveling and experiencing new adventures… only in a different way! Planning trips may require more effort, research, communication, and creativity as a disabled adventurer, but that doesn’t stop us from having a good time

Why I Am Writing

I am writing blogs for several reasons. The first reason is to share my experiences. Through my blogs, I can have a written recount of our trips to look back on! Another reason is to help others on planning their trips by giving tips and tricks and encouraging others to seek their own adventures and not let their disability hold them back.

The Meaning Behind “Adventure Made Accessible”

What is an accessible adventure?  As a wheelchair user, I cannot always do things the same way others can.  For example, my chair cannot go on stairs, sand, and rough terrain.  This means outdoorsy vacations or traveling to countries without ADA rules makes vacations a little more challenging to plan.  To overcome this, we have to get creative with solutions to make it wheelchair-accessible, or just plan ahead of time. That is why my website is called “Adventure Made Accessible,” but it also sounds cool!

Thank you for reading this and I hope that my blogs can help you plan accessible adventures on your own! Remember don’t let your disability hold you back from enjoying what life has to offer. I would love to hear about your accessible adventures, so let me know by filling out my contact form!

One thought on “All About Me!

  1. Hey Brady, stumbled onto this blog through a website post from a parent, this is awesome and I have only been in the chair for a year or so. I look forward to learning from you!

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started